To unite for mutual  benefit those public officials and private persons engaged in the control of arson and kindred crimes.

To provide for exchange of technical information and developments.

To cooperate with other law enforcement agencies and associations to further fire prevention and the suppression of crime.

To encourage high professional standards of conduct among members and to continually strive to eliminate all factors which interfere with administration of justice.  

I will conduct both my personal and official life so as to inspire the confidence of the public.

I will not use my profession and my position of trust for personal advantage or profit.

I will regard my fellow investigators with the same standards as I hold for myself.

I will never betray a confidence nor otherwise jeopardize their investigation

I will regard it my duty to know my work thoroughly.  It is my further duty to avail myself of every opportunity to learn more about my profession.

I will avoid alliances with those whose goals are inconsistent with an honest and unbiased investigation.

I will make no claim to professional qualifications which I do not possess.

I will share all publicity equally with my fellow investigators whether such publicity if favorable or unfavorable.

I will be loyal to my superiors, to my subordinates, and to the organization I represent.

I will bear in mind always that I am a truth-seeker not a case maker, that it is more important to protect the innocent than to convict the guilty.

Oregon I.A.A.I. - Chapter 31

International Association of Arson Investigators

BECOME A MEMBER    Join us or renew here



Nicole Brewer

IAAI 2022 International

Fire Investigator of the Year


Oregon 2021 Fire Investigator of the Year Nicole Brewer (Portland Fire Bureau) was awarded the 2022 International Fire Investigation of the Year at the IAAI International Training Conference in Jacksonville Florida in April.  Past President Ed Bonollo, 2nd Vice President Virginia Chapman, Director Debbie McDermott, Past President/Current Treasurer John Wolff and Margueritte Hickman represented the Oregon Chapter.  


43nd Annual Conference 

    Save the Date - September 19-22, 2022 at the Hallmark Inn in Newport. 

    Courses and instructors are being finalized.  Conference schedule should be posted by mid-June.  

    Hallmark Inn is currently taking reservations for the conference.  Please mention "IAAI Oregon" to get the special rate.  www.hallmarkinns.com/newport/


      Thank you John Gentry Photography for capturing our 42nd Annual Seminar.


      We were finally able to recognize and thank outgoing Oregon IAAI Board President, Jerry Flowerdew, who has served the organization for so many years. Jerry will remain on as our Immediate Past President and hopefully leader of our amazing raffle during the annual seminar.

      Jerry is recognized by fellow Past President, John Wolff

      Thank you Jerry for all you have done and continue to do for Oregon IAAI!

      2021 AWARD WINNERS

      Fire Investigator of the Year: Nicole Brewer, Portland Fire

      Outstanding Photo - Accidental Fire: Izak Hamilton, Clackamas Co. Fire Dist. #1

      Outstanding Photo - Incendiary Fire: Miguel Bautista, Scappoose Fire 

      Our Newest Life Member:  Charles Marble, Hillsboro Fire

      2021-22 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

      Thank you Lora Radcliff, Albany Fire, who completed six years of service to the IAAI .  We will miss you  on the Board.

      President:  Ralph Sartain, Ashland Fire

      1st Vice President:   Rich Stenhouse. Clackamas Co. Fire Dist. #1

      2nd Vice President:   Virginia Chapman, NEFCO Fire Investigations 

      Treasurer:   John Wolff, Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue

      Immediate Past President:   Jerry Flowerdew, Flowerdew Fire Cause


      Miquel Bautista, Scappoose Fire - reelected 2021

      Joe Feland, Fire Cause Anaylsis - reelected 2021

      Debbie McDermott, McMinnville Fire

      Mark Shay, Medford Fire

      Kevin Schummer, Grotefield Hoffmann - reelected 2021

      Shannon Miller, Oregon State Fire Marshal - elected 2021

        Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software