To unite for mutual  benefit those public officials and private persons engaged in the control of arson and kindred crimes.

To provide for exchange of technical information and developments.

To cooperate with other law enforcement agencies and associations to further fire prevention and the suppression of crime.

To encourage high professional standards of conduct among members and to continually strive to eliminate all factors which interfere with administration of justice.  

I will conduct both my personal and official life so as to inspire the confidence of the public.

I will not use my profession and my position of trust for personal advantage or profit.

I will regard my fellow investigators with the same standards as I hold for myself.

I will never betray a confidence nor otherwise jeopardize their investigation

I will regard it my duty to know my work thoroughly.  It is my further duty to avail myself of every opportunity to learn more about my profession.

I will avoid alliances with those whose goals are inconsistent with an honest and unbiased investigation.

I will make no claim to professional qualifications which I do not possess.

I will share all publicity equally with my fellow investigators whether such publicity if favorable or unfavorable.

I will be loyal to my superiors, to my subordinates, and to the organization I represent.

I will bear in mind always that I am a truth-seeker not a case maker, that it is more important to protect the innocent than to convict the guilty.

Log in

Oregon I.A.A.I. - Chapter 31

International Association of Arson Investigators


Investigator of the Year Award - "Frank Herlinger Award"

This award is given to an individual who has shown outstanding achievement and professionalism in the field of fire/arson investigation.  The recipient of this award is not required to be a member of this organization. Our goal is to recognize the BEST investigator in Oregon. This award is limited to one (1) award annually.

Life Membership Award - "William S. Hood Award"

The Chapter may bestow Life Membership upon any qualified member who has met the following requirements: Active member of Oregon Chapter 31, active member in good standing for at least ten (10) years, the individual must have rendered distinctive service to the Chapter through participation on committees and/or activities for a minimum of five (5) years.  This award is limited to two (2) recipients annually.

Distinguished Service Award - "C. Walter Stickney Award"

This award is given to individual(s) who have shown outstanding service, effort and direction to the purposes and objectives of the Association. This award is limited to one (1) recipient annually.  Formerly known as the exemplar member award.

Outstanding Accomplishment Award – Bill Hakim Award

This award is presented to municipalities, agencies (law enforcement or private), and companies which have developed successful programs which help to reduce the incidence of arson by implementing and achieving a progressive, innovative and successful program. This award is limited to one (1) award annually.

Award of Recognition - "Donald G. Petruzzelli Award"

This was formerly the prosecutor of the year award. This award may be given to any individual or organization for service rendered to the chapter and its purposes.

Photography Awards - Arson and Accidental

This award is separated into two (2) categories; Arson and Accidental Fire Photography. This award is voted on at the Annual Training Seminar in September.  Award give to the top photograph in each category.

Amusing Award

Always a fun award to give to someone who may have been in the wrong place at the wrong time.  Any funny, amusing, silly or accidental event worth recognizing in front of everyone.  Awards in this category are only limited by your imagination.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software